Opening Minds, Bridging Differences, Living Jewish Values.

Athletics

Each division has varied opportunities for students to participate in athletics through the academic program as well as through after school activities.
 
Our Middle School and High School divisions compete in interscholastic sports in three different seasons.

Ve’nishmartem me’od lenafshoteihem” (Deut.4:15) has traditionally been interpreted as a biblical imperative to take care of one’s body. The athletic and physical education program at Heschel promotes “a sound mind in a sound body” (Juvenal, Satires).

Interscholastic sports at Heschel are an integral component of the educational program and hone kinesthetic skills through competitive teams. Emphases are on learning the particular skills set of the varied sports games and striving together as a group to perform well. Students learn that excellence is achieved by self-discipline, dedication, and focus in and out of the classroom and that competition and cooperation go hand in hand. The athletic program, like the academic program demonstrates that:

• lasting satisfaction comes not so much from “winning” per se as from working to one’s best capacity;
• self-worth and self-confidence are by-products of hard work;
• problem solving and decision making are integral components of every skills set;
• successful performance results from the cooperative efforts of individuals with different learning styles;
• it is always prudent to hone skills already acquired to improve them;
• good sportsmanship and good citizenship comprise the same values;
• commitment, endurance, motivation, and hard work are gratifying.

CALENDAR FILTER 

  • Athletics

Athletics Calendar

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Dec 26
Mon, Dec 27
Tue, Dec 28
Wed, Dec 29
Thu, Dec 30
Fri, Dec 31
Sat, Jan 1
Sun, Jan 2
Mon, Jan 3
Tue, Jan 4
Wed, Jan 5
HS Girls Varsity Basketball vs. Ramaz
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Thu, Jan 6
Heschel MS Boys Basketball (A) vs Winston Prep
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball (B) vs Winston Prep
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
HS Boys Varsity Basketball vs Magen Abraham
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Fri, Jan 7
Sat, Jan 8
Sun, Jan 9
HS Girls Varsity Basketball @ Ma'ayanot
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Mon, Jan 10
Tue, Jan 11
HS Boys Varsity Basketball @ Martin Luther
-
60-02 Maspeth Ave, Queens, NY 11378
HS Girls Varsity Basketball vs. Kushner
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Wed, Jan 12
Thu, Jan 13
Fri, Jan 14
Sat, Jan 15
Sun, Jan 16
HS Boys Varsity Basketball @ MTA
-
2540 Amsterdam Ave, New York, NY 10033, USA
Mon, Jan 17
Tue, Jan 18
Wed, Jan 19
HS Girls Varsity Basketball @ SAR
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
HS Boys Varsity Basketball @ SAR
-
503 W 259th St, Bronx, NY 10471, USA
Thu, Jan 20
Cancelled - Heschel MS Boys Basketball @ Avenues
-
Avenues The World School, 259 10th Ave, New York, NY 10001, USA
Cancelled - MS Girls Basketball vs Speyer
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Fri, Jan 21
Sat, Jan 22
Sun, Jan 23
Mon, Jan 24
Tue, Jan 25
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Boys Basketball (7th Gr) vs RSS
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Girls Basketball @ Avenues
-
Avenues The World School, 259 10th Ave, New York, NY 10001, USA
Wed, Jan 26
Subscribe to Alerts HS Boys Varsity Basketball @ Avenues
-
259 10th Ave, New York, NY 10001, USA
Thu, Jan 27
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Boys Basketball vs Columbia
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Girls Basketball vs Columbia
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Fri, Jan 28
Sat, Jan 29
Sun, Jan 30
Tue, Feb 1
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Boys Basketball (B) vs Gaynor
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Wed, Feb 2
Subscribe to Alerts HS Boys Varsity Basketball vs Ramaz
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Thu, Feb 3
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Girls Basketball vs MCS
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Subscribe to Alerts Heschel MS Boys Basketball (B) vs Winward
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Fri, Feb 4
Sat, Feb 5

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Hockey
  • HS Boys JV Basbketball
  • HS Boys Varsity Basketball
  • HS Cross Country
  • HS Girls JV Volleyball
  • HS Girls Varsity Basketball
  • HS Girls Varsity Volleyball
  • HS Soccer
  • MS Basketball
  • MS Cross Country
  • MS Girls Softball
  • MS Soccer
  • MS Softball
  • MS Tennis
  • MS Track and Field
  • MS Volleyball

Athletics Calendar

Heschel MS Boys Basketball (7th Gr) vs RSS Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
HS Boys Varsity Basketball @ Avenues Subscribe to Alerts
-
259 10th Ave, New York, NY 10001, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball vs Columbia Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball (B) vs Gaynor Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
HS Boys Varsity Basketball vs Ramaz Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball (B) vs Winward Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball vs Bank St Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
Heschel MS Boys Basketball (8th Gr) vs Geneva Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA
HS Girls Varsity Basketball @ Frisch Subscribe to Alerts
-
30 West End Ave, New York, NY 10023, USA