Opening Minds, Bridging Differences, Living Jewish Values.

Athletics

Each division has varied opportunities for students to participate in athletics through the academic program as well as through after school activities.
 
Our Middle School and High School divisions compete in interscholastic sports in three different seasons.
 
 

Calendar Filter

Search

Athletics Calendar

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Sun, Jul 7
Mon, Jul 8
Tue, Jul 9
Wed, Jul 10
Thu, Jul 11
Fri, Jul 12
Sat, Jul 13
Sun, Jul 14
Tue, Jul 16
Wed, Jul 17
Thu, Jul 18
Fri, Jul 19
Sat, Jul 20
Tue, Jul 23
Wed, Jul 24
Thu, Jul 25
Fri, Jul 26
Sat, Jul 27
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Hockey
  • HS Boys JV Basbketball
  • HS Boys JV Basketball
  • HS Boys Soccer
  • HS Boys Varsity Basketball
  • HS Cross Country
  • HS Girls JV Basketball
  • HS Girls JV Volleyball
  • HS Girls Varsity Basketball
  • HS Girls Varsity Volleyball
  • HS Ultimate Frisbee
  • MS Basketball
  • MS Cross Country
  • MS Girls Softball
  • MS Grade 6 Basketball
  • MS Soccer
  • MS Softball
  • MS Tennis
  • MS Track & Field
  • MS Track and Field
  • MS Ultimate Frisbee
  • MS Volleyball

Ve’nishmartem me’od lenafshoteihem” (Deut.4:15) has traditionally been interpreted as a biblical imperative to take care of one’s body. The athletic and physical education program at Heschel promotes “a sound mind in a sound body” (Juvenal, Satires).

Interscholastic sports at Heschel are an integral component of the educational program and hone kinesthetic skills through competitive teams. Emphases are on learning the particular skills set of the varied sports games and striving together as a group to perform well. Students learn that excellence is achieved by self-discipline, dedication, and focus in and out of the classroom and that competition and cooperation go hand in hand. The athletic program, like the academic program demonstrates that:

• lasting satisfaction comes not so much from “winning” per se as from working to one’s best capacity;
• self-worth and self-confidence are by-products of hard work;
• problem solving and decision making are integral components of every skills set;
• successful performance results from the cooperative efforts of individuals with different learning styles;
• it is always prudent to hone skills already acquired to improve them;
• good sportsmanship and good citizenship comprise the same values;
• commitment, endurance, motivation, and hard work are gratifying.